Home > Research > Formal Research Groupings
Home > Research > Formal Research Groupings

Formal Research Groupings

There are a number of formal, University Research Committee accredited research groupings in the Faculty.  They cover a wide range of disciplines and are listed below, together with links to their directors and individual web site links.

Animal Demography Unit (Biological Sciences)
Director: Professor Les Underhill
​Website: http://adu.org.za/

Biopharming Research Unit (Molecular & Cell Biology)
Director: Professor Ed Rybicki
​Website: www.mcb.uct.ac.za/Staff/Ed/Rybicki.htm

H3D - Drug Discovery and Development Centre (Chemistry) 
Director: Professor Kelly Chibale
​Website: http://www.h3d.uct.ac.za/

The Human Evolution Research Institute (HERI) (Archaeology)
Director:  Professor Rebecca Ackermann 
Website:  http:/www.heriuct.co.za

Centre for Information & Communication Technology for Development  (Computer Science)
Acting Director: Professor Edwin Blake
Website: http://www.ict4d.cs.uct.ac.za/

Climate Systems Analysis Group (Environmental & Geographical Science)
Professor Bruce Hewitson
Website: http://www.csag.uct.ac.za

Institute for Communities and Wildlife in Africa
Director: Professor Justin O'Riain
Email: justin.oriain@uct.ac.za
Website: http://icwild.ac.za

Marine Research (Ma-Re) Institute (Biological Sciences and Oceanography)
Director: Associate Professor Marcello Vichi
​Website: http://www.ma-re.uct.ac.za/

Metrological and Applied Sciences University Research Unit: MeASURe
Director:  Professor Andy Buffler
Website: www.measure.uct.ac.za  

Nansen-Tutu Centre for Marine Environmental Research (Oceanography) 
Director: Professor Mathieu Rouault
​Website: www.ma-re.uct.ac.za/nansen-tutu-centre/

Percy Fitzpatrick Institute of African Ornithology (Biological Sciences)
Director: Professor Peter Ryan
Website: http://web.uct.ac.za/depts/fitzpatrick

DST/NRF Centre of Excellence: Birds as Key to biodiversity change (Biological Sciences)
Director: Professor Peter Ryan
Website: http://web.uct.ac.za/depts/stats/adu/safring-index.htm

Plant Conservation Unit (Biological Sciences)
Director: Professor Timm Hofmann
​Website: http://www.pcu.uct.ac.za/

Centre for Supramolecular Chemistry Research (Chemistry)
Director: Professor Mino Caira
​Website: http://www.supramolecular.uct.ac.za/

Scientific Computing Research Unit (Chemistry)
Director: Professor Kevin Naidoo
​Website: http://scientificomputing.com/

Centre for Theoretical and Mathematical Physics (Physics and Applied Mathematics)
Director: Professor Heribert Weigert
​Website: www.phy.uct.ac.za/people/weigert/

UCT-CERN Research Centre (Physics)
Director: Emeritus Professor Jean Cleymans
​Website: www.phy.uct.ac.za/uct-cern