UCT Chemists feature strongly at SA Chemical Institute awards

2 Sep 2016 - 11:45

Professor Timothy Egan

The Gold Medal, a gold-plated medal, is made to a person whose scientific contribution in the field of chemistry of chemical technology is adjudged to be of outstanding merit - was awarded to Professor Timothy Egan from the Department of Chemistry.

SACI Post-graduate awards are made to students engaged in research towards an MSc of PhD degree.  Ian Rogers., from the Department of Chemistry was one of only three people awarded this medal.

Emeritus Professor Luigi Nassimbeni

Emeritus Professor Luigi Nassimbeni was elected a Fellow of the SACI, in recognition of his many contributions to chemistry in South Africa