The goal of the Science Faculty is to be an international leader in research and teaching, with an African context.
Enabling opportunities for globally competitive, locally relevant research.
Educating future scientists with internationally recognised degrees for global mobility.
Home > Home


Wednesday, 1 April 2015

As devastating as the ongoing fires around the Peninsula have been to property and tracts of nature reserve, regular fires every 15 years are critical to the rebirth of fynbos-dominated ecosystems, says fynbos ecologist Dr Adam West.

Publication Date:
Friday, March 6, 2015 - 08:30

The fires that have been ravaging the Cape Peninsula have raised concerns about the survival of local animal populations - especially the area's already beleaguered baboons.  Professor Justin O'Riain, head of UCT's Baboon Resarch Unit, talks about what measures are in place to help baboons in a crisis.

Publication Date:
Friday, March 6, 2015 - 08:15

Using aerospace technology to look at dwindlig bearded vulture population from afar

Publication Date:
Thursday, March 5, 2015 - 08:15

Scientists from the University of Cape Town, the South African Astronomical Observatory and the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences are delivering a series of lectures this week (19 - 23 January) on what the SKA will mean for data and computing in the sciences, particularly astronomy.


Publication Date:
Friday, January 23, 2015 - 12:45