Monday, 15 October 2018
ASSAf honours scientists from UCT

Two academics from the Faculty of Science at UCT, Professor Kelly Chibale and Professor Kevin Naidoo, were among 20 of the country's leading scholars and scientists inaugurated as members of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) at the annual award ceremony.  Dr Sarah Fawcett, a lecturer in the Oceanography department, featured in ASSAf’s inauguration of 10 new members of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS).

Publication Date:
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:15
Womxn in Physics making their mark

The Department of Physics recently hosted a Womxn in Physics lunch to highlight the issue of under representation of women in Physics and to encourage current students to consider further studies in the field. At this event two PhD students shared their journey and tips for success with the students and staff who attended.

Publication Date:
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 10:45
NRF Hamilton Naki award for Professor Ed February

At the annual NRF Awards function where recipients for top honours in the science and research field are announced, Professor Ed February, Department of Biological Sciences, was announced as the recipient of the Hamilton Naki Award.  This award honours individuals for achieving world-class research performance despite considerable challenges.

Publication Date:
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:45
Ledumahadi Mafube - new giant dinosaur species found in SA

UCT palaeoscientist, Associate Professor Emese Bordy, from the Department of Geological Sciences at UCT was among the international team of scientists from UCT, University of the Witwatersrand, Oxford University and the South African National Museum, who discovered a new species of a giant dinosaur, Ledumahadi Mafube, in the Free State Province.

Publication Date:
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 10:00